Rochester Paddle Forum

Everything about the sport of Platform Tennis, from the choice of ball color to whose the best in the league. Feel free to participate. Your name or nickname will be included with all posts (click the profile link to create a nickname). Please be respectful - inappropriate material will be removed!!



Double hit rule

I just read through the rules posting on the left of the home page. I thought that they changed the double hit rule a couple of years ago. The posting says that the double hit is illegal. Weren't we told that the double hit has been eliminated as long as the stroke is one continuous motion? Please clarify.
myace....dan crosby
12/09/2011

 
Rule 18 d states: Loss of point if: A player deliberately carries or catches the ball in play on the paddle or deliberately touches it with the paddle more than once (i.e. any ball struck using a continuous motion is legal).
John Topping
12/13/2011

 
Thanks John. So it the intent that determines a double hit or not. One continuous motion that happens to contact the ball twice is ok, but a ball that is hit once, then hit again with a separate stroke is a double hit.
myace....dan crosby
12/13/2011