Rochester Paddle Forum

Everything about the sport of Platform Tennis, from the choice of ball color to whose the best in the league. Feel free to participate. Your name or nickname will be included with all posts (click the profile link to create a nickname). Please be respectful - inappropriate material will be removed!!



Rule Question

Last night something happend that I've never seen.

The serve was intended to be hit to my deuce court partner and I was standing in the back corner of the add court watching to see if the ball was good or a fault. The server struck the ball and was way off. The ball hit me ( 10ft or so ) out of the proper landing area. I didn't see it and don't know if it bounced into me or hit me in the air. If it bounced then that would be a fault as it didn't hit in the proper landing area. But.. If it hit me in the air,
would the server win the point?
They would during the regular play but I'm not sure about on the serve. Does the ball have to touch in the proper service area to start the point.
William Brizee
11/13/2009

 
Not sure. But if the point is won by the server then I might employ the strategy sometimes of trying to bean the guys instead of trying to get it in the box. I would probably have better success.
Happy Paddle
11/13/2009

 
Server wins the point if it touchs either player in the air.
steve pike
11/13/2009

 
That is what I thought. It was my partner btw!!!
CB
11/16/2009

 
Take em anyway you can get them Hadley!!!!!!
Happy Paddle
11/16/2009